U.S. Postal Service to Issue New England Lighthouse Stamps

Posted on July 10, 2013

US Postal Service New England Coastal Lighthouses

The U.S. Postal Service will issue New England Coastal Lighthouses stamps on July 13. The collection features five lighthouses: Portland Head, Cape Elizabeth, Maine; Portsmouth Harbor, New Castle, New Hampshire; Point Judith, Narragansett, Rhode Island; New London Harbor, New London, Connecticut; and Boston Harbor, Boston, Massachusetts. Howard Koslow created original paintings of each lighthouse for use as the stamp art. Howard E. Paine and Greg Breeding served as art directors on the stamp series.

Each stamp shows a close-up view of one of the five lighthouses. The five lighthouses are among the oldest in the U.S. Each lighthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places. Boston Harbor Light is also a National Historic Landmark. The Boston Harbor Light stamp is pictured below.

US Postal Service Boston Harbor Lighthouse Stamp

Photo: U.S. Postal Service
More from Shoppers Shop